The Reality of Life

Life isn’t a fairy tale,
Where people fall in love
And live happily ever after.
But life is an affliction,
A painful depressant, a bitter pill,
Which all have to swallow-
Brings you wretchedness and engulfs your sanity.

I was young, quite young
Still living in a world of dreams
When suddenly my mind mushroomed
From a world of fairy tales
To a world of realities so corrosive.
Life had given me much
But life took them all away in an instant.

Then again came my prince or so I thought
Who would be my happy place.
But he found greener grass, in reality brown,
Callously he stabbed my heart,
Twisted and turned the knife
Till it bled the life out of me.

Still I waited bleeding red,
Drops of blood oozing out of my heart.
Still he juggled with it,
Till the juggling couldn’t be stopped
And he got trapped in his own artifice
Which became a web,
He couldn’t crawl out of.

Though misled for a while
That transformation was real,
I eventually learnt the hard way
What’s crooked can never be straight.
They say when you want something,
The whole world conspires to get it to you.
But I beg to differ with you Coelho,
What’s not meant to be will never be.

14 thoughts on “The Reality of Life

Leave a Reply

